By the Light of the Moon

What will we dream of?

Sherry McGuinn
4 min readApr 5, 2020
Source: Free-Images.Com

“The moon is friend for the lonesome to talk to.”
Carl Sandburg

This morning, when I awoke at around 8 am, with my husband, who suffers from insomnia, thankfully sleeping beside me, and one of our three cats on top of me with another under the covers, I wanted to go back to sleep, but couldn’t.

I couldn’t return to the relative blissfulness of sleep, yet I didn’t want to get up. I thought, “What’s the point?”

Today will be just like yesterday, if not worse. There will be more deaths, more lies from our disgraceful President and his “task force,” with the exception of Dr. Anthony Fauci…and an even deeper, darker level of anxiety. Like a cloak that mysteriously thickens every time you put it on.

We’re all feeling like this. And dealing with it the best we can. I don’t always do so well, as my propensity for imbibing increasing amounts of wine, will attest.

When the dark thoughts crowded in, I jumped out of bed, quickly dressed and ventured out into the 37-degree Chicago weather for a brisk walk. “Motion” is always my go-to for dealing with my particular demons.

I wore my winter jacket, a scarf around my head and gloves and I was still cold. But, the quicker I walked, the faster I warmed…

--

--

Sherry McGuinn

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com