FREE VERSE/SHORT FICTION

“Gig” Deconstructed

A musing.

Sherry McGuinn
5 min readAug 5, 2022

--

Image by Mark Nieno/Flickr.Com

I need to lie down, I think.
Gently. Let me help.

Should I close my eyes?
That’s up to you.

Maybe I’ll keep them open.
Why?

So I can see you.
There’s no need for that.

But it’s so dark in here.
You don’t like it?

It’s a little scary, you know?
I know more than you think.

I know you, too.
And, how is that?

I dream about you, a lot.
Dreaming isn’t “knowing.”

I’m not the only one.
Right now, you are.

I don’t think I like you.
You will, my love. You must.

Don’t call me that.
But I love you now, and truly.

What should I be feeling?
Like you’re floating, baby.

In water?
Or air, whatever you like.

I never could float.
It’s easy, you’ll see.

--

--

Sherry McGuinn

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com