OP-ED

Does Not Knowing About Mastodon or the “Fediverse” Mean I’m Out of Touch?

Read on for the answer.

Sherry McGuinn
5 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Image by Joanna Penn/Flickr.Com

Hell no.

Two simple words that, hopefully, speak volumes to those of you who are super-excited over the thought of jumping into this oh-so-new-and-trendy fray. (I was going to say “fuck no,” but I held back.)

Let’s see. “Fediverse.” Is that a secluded place where federal employees go to unwind? How about “Mastodon.” Isn’t that an extinct animal?

Of course, I’m being facetious, but I’m fed up to my eyeballs with the ongoing, relentless cropping up of new buzz phrases and social meet-up places and all the other bullshit that makes me wonder if I should buy stock in Pfizer (the marketer of Xanax).

No offense meant to anyone, and I hope that my candor doesn’t resolve in massive blowback for me, but, I know I’m not the only one who doesn’t get it. Why do we need more and more convoluted “stuff? Perhaps I’m so clueless about these entities because, as a writer, my focus is on the craft of writing.

Writing material that will resonate with my readers. And making that material as good as it can possibly be.

--

--

Sherry McGuinn

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com