WEIGHT LOSS/NUTRITION

If You Want to Lighten Things Up, Go “Old School” With Salads

But, think beyond lettuce and tomatoes because the possibilities are endless

Sherry McGuinn
8 min readMar 12, 2022

--

Public Domain Image/Flickr.Com

As a writer, I have to make a concerted effort to incorporate motion into my daily routine as I reckon’ conjuring up stories doesn’t burn a hell of a lot of calories. Writing during a pandemic has made this even more challenging.

So, I’m on a mission to lose the ten or twelve pounds I’ve gained over the past two-plus years of this abnormal “new normal” we’ve all struggled with.

Sitting on my ass toiling on Medium has contributed to my excess pudge and I’m guessing I’m not alone. So, I’m going to initiate a type of challenge here centered around the humble salad.

Now, for those of you who already enjoy your greens, good for you, as you’re feeding your body the nutrients it needs to keep chuggin’ along, singin’ a song.

But, for you folks who’d rather eat topsoil than a bowl of lettuce, it’s time to broaden your horizons.

I’m not talking “rabbit food,” but rather, scrumptious, filling, and nutritious combinations of fruits, veggies, and lean proteins that will keep you energized and satisfied. For that, you need to veer from the…

--

--

Sherry McGuinn

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com