GOING VIRAL

Just When You Think You’re Home Free, Covid Moves In

Now, what?

Sherry McGuinn
4 min readMay 21, 2022

--

Image by GoPiloGo/Flickr.Com

In the two-plus years that we’ve been living amidst a pandemic, I’ve felt very fortunate that no one close to me, i. e. family members, in particular, has tested positive for the Covid virus.

Until now. Yesterday, my husband told me that he, indeed, tested positive. I knew something was amiss as he had an appointment with his cardiologist that “turned into” a phone consultation.

I couldn’t fathom that. How does one have a phone convo with a heart doctor?

It turns out that, the day before, my husband went to an immediate care facility to check on a recent shoulder injury. He’d had a “cold” for several days so they pulled out the swabs and tested him.

He waited a day until telling me. I was totally blindsided by this news. Immediately, my heart started thumping in my chest and I felt as if I was going to pass out.

Oddly, two weeks ago, before undergoing a colonoscopy, he tested negative, so I don’t know what transpired between then and now as he doesn’t go out all that much.

The “good news” is that the nurse he spoke with told him that, since his symptoms were abating, he was over the hump, for whatever that’s worth.

--

--

Sherry McGuinn

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com