HEALTH/AGING

What New, Physical Phuckery is This?

Feeling defeeted

Sherry McGuinn
4 min readAug 8, 2022

--

Public Domain Image

Lately, working out isn’t working for me, in that, my body is rebelling in ways that make me want to take it out back and beat the living crap out of it.

Maybe that’s the problem. I’ve beaten the living crap out of it.

I haven’t gone to the gym in a long time because I need new workout shoes and I’ve been too cheap to buy them. That’s a failing of mine. I let something totally fall apart before it’s ultimately replaced.

Yet, I’ve been wearing these shoes at home when I work out. Which is every day. They’re Nikes and they’ve served me well for years. Except now, they’re not, as the poor things need to be retired and in turn, my poor feet are shot.

A couple of weeks ago, I hopped on a rebounder, or mini-trampoline, that my sister gave me and bounced barefoot for fifteen minutes. I’ve used these in the past and never had any issues, but, I always wore shoes.

The next day, after running on the treadmill in those Nikes that have absolutely no cushioning left, I got back on the tramp, again, barefoot. This time, when I stepped off, I couldn’t feel the bottoms of my feet. They were numb.

--

--

Sherry McGuinn

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com